Skip to main content

430 resources available


A bipartisan organization for state, commonwealth and territorial legislators and their staffs, the National Conference of State Legislatures “provides research, technical assistance and opportunities for policymakers to exchange ideas on the most pressing state issues.” The organization advocates the interests of state governments.


Accountability means that the government in a democracy is responsible to the people for its actions.

Congress sends the states twelve amendments to the Constitution, but only ten of the amendments— known as the Bill of Rights — are ratified. The two that are not adopted deal with congressional pay raises and the size of districts for the House of Representatives. The pay raise amendment is approved by only six of