Skip to main content

Washington Vetos Bill On Apportioning House


In the first use of the presidential veto power, George Washington vetoes a bill to apportion the House, saying it is unconstitutional. Presidents John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, John Quincy Adams, W.H. Harrison, Zachary Taylor, Millard Fillmore and James Garfield never vetoed a bill.