Skip to main content

Montana Firearms Freedom Act


In 2009, Montana passes the Montana Firearms Freedom Act to allow Montana gun manufacturers to sell guns without a federal license. The bill, authored by Gary Marbut, president of the Montana Shooting Sports Association, and supported by the National Rifle Association, attempts to reverse decades of gun legislation on the grounds that the federal government may not regulate firearms produced and distributed solely for use within a state. The law is eventually struck down by a District Court, but by 2014, eight more states – Alaska, Arizona, Idaho, Kansas, Tennessee, South Dakota, Utah and Wyoming – will pass similar laws.