Skip to main content

Eisenhower Is The First President Restricted To Two Terms


While Republicans pressed for a two term limit to the Presidency, it is a Republican President, Dwight D. Eisenhower, who is the first to fall under the amendment’s restriction. Eisenhower remains popular after serving two terms, and observers believe he could have won a third term had he been able to run.