Skip to main content

Congress Passes D.C. Voting Rights Amendment


With overwhelming bipartisan support, Congress passes by two-thirds majority in each chamber a constitutional amendment granting voting rights to residents of the District of Columbia. The amendment, which requires ratification by 38 states before it becomes effective, has a seven-year time limit on ratification. The amendment is ratified by only 16 of the required 38 states.