Skip to main content

Congress Creates Court of Claims


Congress establishes the Court of Claims, giving it jurisdiction to decide the validity of all monetary claims based upon the laws, regulations, or contracts with the U.S. government. The three judges on the Court of Claims are nominated by the president and confirmed by the Senate for lifetime appointments. In 1982, Congress will abolish the Court of Claims and will divide its jurisdiction between the new U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit and the U.S. Court of Federal Claims.