Skip to main content

Securities and Exchange Commission

The SEC’s mission is to protect investors and ensure efficient capital markets within the United States. The SEC is the nation’s primary securities regulator, overseeing financial reports prepared by public traded companies. Created by Congress in 1934 following the stock market crash of 1929, the SEC now consists of five commissioners appointed by the president and eleven district and regional offices across the country.