Skip to main content


committees are made up of members of the U.S. Senate or House of
Representatives and oversee specific subject areas, such as finance or
intelligence or agriculture. Membership on a particular committee allows a
legislator to develop specialized knowledge of that issue. Congress is divided
into 42 committees (and nearly 200 when subcommittees are added). Most legislation originates in
committees and then moves to the full House or Senate for approval.