Skip to main content

Articles of Confederation

Before the Constitution was ratified, the thirteen states joined in a loose confederation from 1781 until 1789. The Articles of Confederation established a single legislative branch, without an executive or judiciary. This national government depended on the states for funding and any changes in the articles required the unanimous approval of the states.

By Donald Ritchie, Our Constitution (Oxford University Press)